FAN Projection Targets: Award Winners of 2011

As noted by David Appelman yesterday, we’ve begun accepting entries for our 2012 FAN Projections. During the offseason, we’ll feature select players as “targets” for projection.

Today, we look at 2011’s main award winners: NL MVP Ryan Braun, NL CY Young Clayton Kershaw, and AL Cy Young/MVP combo package Justin Verlander.

For the fourth consecutive season, Braun improved both his strikeout and walk rates, en route to a 7.8 WAR.

The left-handed Kershaw cut his walk rate by almost 40% and, at 23, became the youngest Cy Young winner since Dwight Gooden in 1985.

Verlander won the AL Cy Young award unanimously, taking all 28 first-place votes, and — whether because of his excellent performance in the advanced metrics, or merely his 24 wins — took the league’s MVP award, as well.

Click here to cast your 2012 projection ballot for 2011’s award winners.

Carson Cistulli has published a book of aphorisms called Spirited Ejaculations of a New Enthusiast.

Comments are closed.